Tags

, , , , , ,

 This fall fur is popping up everywhere. From jackets, scarves, hats, bags, and shoe detailing, fur accents are hard to miss. Without a doubt it’s one of the biggest trends for Fall/Winter 2011-12.

Check out Fabsugar TV’s video covering the fur trend:

 Surprisingly, when worn plush fur in rich hues & textures can generate many different vibes such as elegant, glamorous, rockerish, 70’s boho, feminine and tomboyish. It’s hard to believe, but I’ll let the street fashion pictures below speak for themselves.

Street fashion is the best way to see how runway ideas get implemented into real life. New York fashionistas can’t get enough of fur, nor can their Parisian counterparts across the Atlantic. 

Fur street style in NYC

 Fur street style in Paris

Though fur is lovely and chic, there’s definitely an ugly side to fur that raises debate. This post made me re-think fur and I went to the PETA website to read up. Though I didn’t want to include any disturbing or nasty photos here, I encourage everyone to research the topic on their own and reach their own decision on the matter. Though I currently stand at a no “real” fur stance, only faux fur; Faux fur may be sending the wrong message as well. I am honestly not sure where I stand. I’d love to hear your input on the fur debate. On New York Magazine’s website I found these pictures of animal heads placed on top of the runway looks. Though the NY Mag’s spin wasn’t negative whatsoever, I found it quite disturbing and a blatant reminder of the fashion’s origins.

