Tags

, , , , , ,

This week Keira Knightley radiated at the Venice Film Festival in a stunningly vibrant tea length dress. The artistic luscious print intrigued me, so I decided to do a little bit of research on the designer, Mary Katrantzou! 

Keira vs. Runway Model

London based designer, Mary Katrantzou is an emerging fashion designer and one to be watched! Her Autumn/Winter 2011-12 collection took us on an artistic journey that is reminiscent of a faberge egg wonderland! The collection featured separates, body hugging shifts, and Katrantzou’s signature lampshade-esque skirts. Calgary Avansino from Vogue shared her thoughts on the show… “It was amazing – she just embraces print. There was print on print and so many different prints.”

Here are all 27 looks from Mary Katrantzou’s Autumn/Winter 2011-12 runway

In an interview with the blog fashionista.com, Mary explains the process of creating a print…

“I always work on a thematic collection, so it starts with a strong image. I then work on a visual collage, creating my own surreal prints, from the research I have done. My prints are inspired by art and design, which makes the research even more interesting and challenging, as you are looking into filtered beauty but turning it on its head. I then engineer the print around the female figure and work simultaneously within the pattern to make it flattering for the woman.”

An up-close look at the detail in these elaborate prints 

